Client Services

  • Receptionist

    Sharon Newman

    Sharon Newman was born in southern Virginia, and grew up on a tobacco farm where she was surrounded by animals.  At age three, her first pet was a lamb who was bottle raised in the family kitchen.  When it came time to go to college, she chose an undergraduate school that offered Equine Studies.  After earning a Master’s degree in Psychology and extensively studying animal behavior and training, she returned to the animal care industry and has remained there.   She joined VCA Tender Care fifteen years ago, and is currently a Client Experience Coordinator.  Sharon is passionate about caring for animals and their human companions. Having had numerous and various pets, she currently lives with three small dogs:  Gracie, Maya, and Chico.  When not working, she plays the ukulele, studies Hawaiian culture, and spends as much time as possible in and around the oceans- -studying the animals, of course.


  • Receptionist

    Susan Olson

    After working in the non-profit, counseling, and sales/ marketing fields, Susan was ready for something entirely different. She wanted “work that I look forward to when I wake up in the morning”.  Over and over she kept coming back to working with animals. She has always had dogs and cats in her life (and for a short while, horses). Hired by Tender Care 7 years ago, she enjoys being able to contribute to animals’ health and their family’s peace of mind. She has a BA in Psychology with additional training and experience in counseling.  She has a special interest in helping families navigate their options when their pet faces serious and/or life threatening illness or injury. She enjoys gardening, hiking, reading and hanging out with her three cats.


  • Receptionist

    Rebecca Owens

    I’ve been a client service representative at Tender Care since July 2013. The best part about my job is getting to know our clients, building friendships with them, and being there for them when they need us, no matter the situation. I currently have 3 babies in my household. I have a female English bulldog and a black male cat (who are completely attached to each other and definitely act like siblings). My oldest baby is the very first animal I got on my own that was only mine - my female leopard gecko. I was born and raised in Marin! I love to spend time with my family when I am not at work. We are very close and enjoy doing lots of things together. We love making art together, going to the beach, or taking a long drive somewhere. We enjoy just being together. Don’t get me wrong; I really enjoy spending time just me and my three unconditional loving babies, too. I have always been interested in Psychology and fascinated with Drug Addiction Behavior and Treatment. I completed school and have been state certified as a CATC (Certified Addictions Treatment Counselor) by the California Association of Alcohol and Drug Educators for over seven years. Even though I love working with the substance abusing population, my heart has always been with the animals and helping them in any way that I can.

CLOSE CLOSE